Accounting Standards Committee of Germany



Report by the ASCG on the 51st meeting of its IFRS Technical Committee 28 July 2016 in Berlin

At the beginning of its 51st meeting, the IFRS Technical Committee continued its discussion of **IDW ERS HFA 48 (Issues of Accounting for Financial Instruments under IFRS 9)**. The committee also discussed the Draft of an Extension to ERS HFA 48 addressing Hedge Accounting that had been published recently. The Committee has certain remarks as well as proposals to improve the wording of selected sections and intends to address these by means of a comment letter to the IDW.

Furthermore, the IFRS Technical Committee started its discussion about the **IASB's ED/2016/1** *Definition of a Business and Accounting for Previously Held Interests* (*Proposed amendmends to IFRS 3 and IFRS 11*) and discussed the questions raised in the ED as a basis for a comment letter. Whilst the Committee supported the proposed amendments regarding the accounting for previously held interests, it assessed the proposals with regard to the definition of a business to be neither clear nor useful.

As a result of the IFRS Technical Committee's discussion on the upcoming endorsement of the **IFRS 2 Amendment** *Classification and Measurement of Share-based Payment Transactions* the Committee decided to request EFRAG TEG to deliberate certain aspects of the issue on net settlement features again, i.e. the mechanics of the amendment in a progressive tax rate system as well as the catch-up adjustment upon bifurcation.

Finally, the IFRS Technical Committee received an overview about recent and upcoming *Activities on EFRAG's proactive projects* which are largely based on the results of EFRAG's agenda consultation.

Contact:

Zimmerstr. 30 D-10969 Berlin Phone: +49 (0)30 206412-0 Fax: +49 (0)30 206412-15 E-Mail: info@drsc.de Bank Details: Deutsche Bank Berlin Account. 0 700 781 00, BLZ 100 700 00 IBAN-Nr. DE26 1007 0000 0070 0781 00 BIC (Swift-Code) DEUTDEBBXXX Register of Associations: District Court Berlin-Charlottenburg, VR 18526 Nz Executive Committee: Prof. Dr. Andreas Barckow (President) Peter Missler (Vice-President)