Accounting Standards Committee of Germany



Report by the ASCG on the 8th meeting of the Joint Technical Committee on 21st August 2020

The Joint Technical Committee discussed the ASCG draft comment letter on the European Supervisory Authorities' **draft RTS "ESG Disclosures"**, specifying the requirements of the Disclosure Regulation (2019/2088). The Committee agreed to the staff draft subject to an amendment to the answer on question 10 concerning the number of years over which cumulative ESG information should be provided for disclosure. The amended wording will be agreed by written procedure.

Furthermore, the Joint Technical Committee addressed the **inception impact assessment for the European Commission delegated regulation on taxonomy-related disclosures.** The Committee decided not to write a comment letter, but to exchange the position of the ASCG, which had already been expressed in previous consultations, with the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection.

Finally, the Joint Technical Committee was informed about the **progress on the study commissioned by the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection**. In addition, the committee debated the issue of "location of non-financial reporting". i.e. whether or not the non-financial statement should be mandatorily incorporated into the management commentary. The Joint Technical Committee confirmed its earlier view that management commentary, as an established instrument of capital market communication, should not be burdened with content that is not relevant to the primary target group of this reporting instrument. Consequently, the members were against a mandatory inclusion of the non-financial statement in management commentary.

Contact:

Joachimsthaler Str. 34 D-10719 Berlin Phone: +49 (0)30 206412-0 Fax: +49 (0)30 206412-15 E-Mail: info@drsc.de Bank Details:

Deutsche Bank Berlin IBAN-Nr. DE26 1007 0000 0070 0781 00 BIC (Swift-Code) DEUTDEBBXXX Register of Associations: District Court Berlin-Charlottenburg, VR 18526 Nz President: Prof Dr Andreas Barckow Executive Director: Prof Dr Sven Morich