Accounting Standards Committee of Germany



## Report by the ASCG on the 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the Sustainability Reporting Technical Committee on 1 February 2022

The Sustainability Reporting Technical Committee received an overview of the structure of the future "*European Sustainability Reporting Standards*" (ESRS) and the current status of the work of the EFRAG "*Project Task Force on ESRS*" (PTF-ESRS). The Sustainability Reporting Technical Committee dealt with the contents of the "*Working Papers*" of Cluster 1 "*Conceptual guidelines and cross-cutting Standards*" and Cluster 2 "*Environment - Climate Mitigation & Adaptation*" of the PTF-ESRS published on 21 January 2022. A public consultation on the contents of the drafts is still pending. At present, the drafts are subject to further review and consensus-building procedures (including by so-called "*Expert Working Groups*") within PTF-ESRS.

The focus of the discussions on the drafts of Cluster 1 was on the guidelines ("*European Sustainability Reporting Guidelines*", ESRG). Critical discussions included:

- the implementation of the double materiality approach, among other things in the context of linking sustainability and financial reporting, and
- the practicability of the present drafts.

In addition, the "*Working Paper*" ESRS E1 ("*Climate change*") of Cluster 2 was discussed. Critical discussions included:

- the challenges of using climate scenarios and preparing resilience analyses along the supply chain, and
- the general level of detail in the reporting information.

A continuation of the discussions is planned for the upcoming meeting of the Sustainability Reporting Technical Committee on 2 March 2022.

Contact:

Joachimsthaler Str. 34 D-10719 Berlin Phone: +49 (0)30 206412-0 Fax: +49 (0)30 206412-15 E-Mail: info@drsc.de Bank Details: Deutsche Bank Ber

Deutsche Bank Berlin IBAN-Nr. DE26 1007 0000 0070 0781 00 BIC (Swift-Code) DEUTDEBBXXX Register of Associations: District Court Berlin-Charlottenburg, VR 18526 Nz President: Georg Lanfermann Vice President: Prof Dr Sven Morich