27. October 2017

ASCG confirms president in office

The Administrative Board of the Accounting Standards Committee of Germany (ASCG), Berlin, unanimously re-elected the current President, Prof Dr Andreas Barckow, for a further three-year term of office. It followed the recommendation of the Nomination Committee, which was also unanimous. The second term of office will begin on 1 March 2018 and end on 28 February 2021.

“The unanimous vote in the Administrative Board is a reflection of the high level of acceptance that Professor Barckow has received from the members of the association since taking office in spring 2015. We are very happy to be able to appoint him as head of the ASCG for a further three-year term of office,” Dr Ralf P. Thomas, Chairman of the Administrative Board, commented immediately following the decision.

“I would like to thank the members of both the Nomination Committee and the Administrative Board for the great trust they have placed in me and I look forward to further work in and for the association. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Vice President Peter Missler in particular for the two and a half years of excellent cooperation. I would also like to express my gratitude to the staff of the ASCG and look forward to the next three years of joint work,” Professor Barckow commented on the decision.

About the DRSC:
The Accounting Standards Committee of Germany (ASCG) is the national standard setter in the area of group financial reporting in Germany. The organisation was established on 15 March 1998 as an independent and registered not-for-profit association by German Industry and is domiciled in Berlin. The ASCG had been formally acknowledged by the Ministry of Justice (now the Ministry of Justice and for Consumer Protection) as the private standardisation organisation pursuant sec. 342 of the German Commercial Code. Formal acknowledgement took place by means of a Standardisation Agreement on 3 September 1998. Following a temporary suspension in 2010, this agreement had been renewed on 2 December 2011.