18. July 2022

IFRS Foundation appoints two further inaugural ISSB members

On 14 July 2022 the IFRS Foundation announced the appointment of two further inaugural members of the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB): Tae-Young Paik and Elizabeth Seeger.

After the appointments of Emmanuel Faber and Sue Lloyd as Chair and Vice-Chair of the ISSB in December 2021 and January 2022 and the appointments of further inaugural members in June 2022 there are now ten members of the ISSB appointed.

The appointments of the four remaining inaugural members of the ISSB are expected during the third quarter of 2022.

The ISSB’s first public meeting will be held in Frankfurt (Main) on 20/21 July 2022. Stakeholders can observe the Board’s discussions live on the IFRS Foundation’s website.

The ISSB aims at developing a comprehensive global baseline for sustainability disclosures. On 31 March 2022 the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) delivered two proposals and additional documents in order to create that global baseline. The Exposure Drafts (ED) on Sustainability reporting for public consultation are: ED IFRS S1 General Requirements for Disclosure of Sustainability-related Financial Information and ED IFRS S2 Climate-related Disclosures.

The ISSB is seeking feedback on the proposals with the consultation period closing on 29 July 2022. On 21 June 2022, the ASCG held together with the ISSB a common outreach event in Frankfurt to discuss both exposure drafts.